The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Information about the 2023 organizational changes

As of December 31, 2022, The Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics (ATP) has been dissolved.

As of January 1st, 2023:

  • The Theoretical Particle Physics unit and most of the Astronomy unit are now affiliated with the Department of Physics.
  • A smaller part of the Astronomy unit is affiliated with the Department of Geology.
  • The Computational Biology and Biological Physics unit (CBBP) is affiliated with The Centre for Environmental and Climate Science (CEC).

All education related to the former Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics has been reallocated to the Department of Physics. The two departments have had a close collaboration for many years when it comes to education, and all efforts will be made to make sure the reorganization does not affect the students. Courses will continue as planned and all students accepted to a particular programme can rest assured that they will be able to continue and complete their programmes as planned. 

During 2023 the organizational and practical work continues. Information on the ATP website ( will be transferred to the receiving departments’ websites before it is eventually phased out.