The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Master programme in Physics, Theoretical physics

This page describes the course content of the master programme in Physics with specialization in Theoretical Physics.

For introductory information, including entry requirements and how apply, see the Lund University course catalog:

The programme offers a wide range of courses. You should choose 15 credits (hp) of courses for each study period (all are 7.5 hp half-time courses, unless otherwise stated).

Advanced level courses may have special admission requirements, while courses at the basic level are often given in Swedish. Remember to check the course requirements and contact the course responsible if in doubt.

Degree requirements

For a master's degree you have to fulfill the following general requirements:

  • A total of 120 credits
  • A minimum of 90 credits of advanced courses
  • A minimum of 90 credits of physics
  • A minimum of 30 credits of advanced level degree project in physics

Courses that here count as physics are those whose course codes start with FYS, FYT, AST or MAX.

Mandatory courses

  • FYSN17 Quantum Mechanics
  • FYSN21 Quantum Physics in Research and Society
  • At least three out of the following six courses:
    • FYSN23 Advanced Electromagnetism
    • FYST37 Advanced Quantum Mechanics
    • FYTN01 Mathematical Methods in Physics
    • FYTN03 Computational Physics
    • FYTN08 General Relativity
    • FYTN15 Statistical Mechanics

Mandatory courses for students who started before 2020

  • FYSN21 Quantum Physics in Research and Society (or its predecessor FYSN11)
  • At least three out of the following six courses:
    • FYSN15 Experimental Tools
    • FYSN17 Quantum Mechanics
    • FYSN23 Advanced Electromagnetism
    • FYST43 Optics and Optical Design
    • FYTN03 Computational Physics
    • FYTN15 Statistical Mechanics (previously FYTN02)

If you have taken these courses previously, they count towards the specific requirements. If you have taken equivalent courses elsewhere, the programme coordinator will have to verify that the contents and level are equivalent. (Especially note that FYNS17 is an advanced level course, not basic quantum mechanics.)

Degree project

During the second year, you carry out a master's project corresponding to 30 credits. In some cases, 60 credits is also possible. Most students on the programme do a FYTM03/04 project at the Theoretical Particle Physics group, but other physics master's projects (e.g. FYSM30) are equally possible.

Recommended courses

Autumn semester - first period:

  • FYSN17 Quantum Mechanics (mandatory from 2020)
  • FYSN21 Quantum Physics in Research and Society (mandatory, also autumn 2nd)
  • FYTN01 Mathematical Methods of Physics
  • FYTN03 Computational Physics

Autumn semester - second period:

  • FYTN11 Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics (even years)
  • FYTN15 Statistical Mechanics
  • FYTN16 Classical Mechanics (odd years)
  • FYTN18 Theoretical Particle Physics
  • FYSN21 Quantum Physics in Research and Society (mandatory, also autumn 1st)
  • FYST11 Theoretical Nuclear Physics (odd years)
  • FYST12 Quantum Chaos (if available)
  • FYTN14 Artificial Neural Networks and Deep Learning

Spring semester - first period:

  • FYTN10 Introduction to Quantum Field Theory
  • FYST17 Modern Experimental Particle Physics
  • FYSN23 Advanced Electromagnetism
  • FYTN13 Symmetries and Group Theory (odd years)
  • FYTN05 Theoretical Biophysics

Spring semester - second period:

  • FYTN08 General Relativity
  • FYST37 Advanced Quantum Mechanics
  • FYST25 Solid State Theory
  • FYST57 Chaos for Science and Technology

Other courses that may also be suitable

  • FYTB03 Classical mechanics and Special Relativity
  • FMF150 Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics


Director of studies
Johan Rathsman
studierektor [at] atp [dot] lu [dot] se

Master programme coordinators

David Hobbs
david [dot] hobbs [at] astro [dot] lu [dot] se

Theoretical physics
Roman Pasechnik
roman [at] thep [dot] lu [dot] se

Biological physics and computational biology
Carl Troein
carl [at] thep [dot] lu [dot] se