Your browser has javascript turned off or blocked. This will lead to some parts of our website to not work properly or at all. Turn on javascript for best performance.

The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

The Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics, together with the Department of Physics, offer education in astronomy and physics at the bachelor and master levels, as well as dedicated PhD programmes. 

The bachelor programmes lead to a bachelor degree after three years of study (180 ECTS credits). A master's degree requires an additional two years of astronomy or physics studies, including a master's project of 30 or 60 credits.

The PhD programmes at the Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics are carried out within one of the research groups and normally comprises four years of studies and research work.